Books that Remind Us of Christmas

Merry Christmas!

As it is the stroke of midnight, Christmas day for all those who live in NSW, I thought I would post a list of Christmas books/ books that remind me of Christmas.

INCLUDES PICTURE BOOKS, YOUNG READERS AND YA.

  1. How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss
  2. Letters to Father Christmas by J. R. R. Tolkien
  3. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens
  4. The Polar Express by Chris Van Allsberg
  5. Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs
  6. Christmas is Coming by Ruth J. Morehead
  7. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis (I have always wanted a white Christmas and this reminds me of it!)
  8. The Night Before Christmas by Clement C. Moore
  9. Skipping Christmas by John Grisham
  10. Little Women by Lousia May Alcott
  11. Nutcracker by E. T. A. Hoffman
  12. Hercule Poirot’s Christmas by Agatha Christie
  13. The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Anderson
  14. The Cricket on the Hearth by Charles Dickens
  15. The Life and Adventures of Santa Claus by L. Frank Baum
  16. The Adventures of the Blue Carbuncle by Arthur Conan Doyle
  17. The Tailor of Gloucester by Beatrice Potter
  18. He Sees You When You’re Sleeping by Mary Higgens Clark (Edward Cullen anyone?)

For more, Goodreads is an exceptionally good website!

Best Christmas Books

Favourite Christmas Picture Books

Merry Christmas!

Xox,

Laurena, Melia and Ally

Fantasy Book Recommendations

Hello! It’s Laurena, Melia and Ally here and we have some fantasy book recommendations for you!

Fantasy is our favourite genre by far and this list would be miles long if we didn’t limit ourselves. We will give a brief reason of why we recommend the books.

In no particular order…

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Throne of glass

Throne of Glass is a high-fantasy. It’s one of those books that you can’t say anything about it without spoiling something. We can’t even reveal the characters name!

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

This book is set in a fantasy world that sort of resembles Russia. There’s magic, mayhem and anything else you could hope for in a fantasy.

Akarnae by Lynette Noni

23569787

Perfect for fans of Narnia and Harry Potter

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

an ember in the ashes.jpg

Fast-paced, gripping.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

va-mti-cover-_-face-on1

No. It is nothing like Twilight if that is what is steering you away from this series.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder

Fabulous Sci-fi/Fantasy retelling of Cinderella

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

51ADTbfEdzL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

The world-building is perfection!

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

for the blog

Magic, action and all of that fun stuff!

Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 

the wrath and the dawn.jpg

An incredible twist on a fairytale

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

Papa

Original characters and a gripping plot

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

RedQueen

Unlike anything we have ever read!

Firstlife by Gena Showalter

25785357

Unique and action-packed

The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

Delete

Two of the best fantasy authors come together to create this AMAZING series!

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy

1

If there is going to be an apocalypse, let’s just hope it’s nothing like the one in this book

There you have it! 14 fabulous fantasy books. If you haven’t read any of them, you should go do that.

-The Immortal Readers

All of the cover images are from Goodreads.

That Pesky TBR Pile Dominating The Room

caf36-tbr.png

Hello readers! It is Laurena here!

Sorry we have been absent, we had a Science assessment due (on my birthday!), and English assessment due on the last Wednesday of term, a Geography test to study for, an Art assessment to prepare, a Technology assessment… You get the drift! Too much schoolwork…

But, as it is almost holidays, we will post more frequently!

I have been buying/ borrowing far too many books in the past month! And I shoved them aside because I got my hands on a copy of Empire of Storms. So, my TBR pile has been slowly creeping up on me!

I thought that I should record them here along with a couple of tips to help shrink that pile down…

So, without further ado, my TBR list!

Continue reading

Top 15 Favourite Throne of Glass (Series) Quotes!

Hello readers! This is your weekly ‘Laurena’ hit! (No takers? No? Ok.) As I have mentioned probably half a million times- I love, love, LOVE! Throne of Glass!

No- I love Sarah J. Maas! Even with the fancy stunt with the Empire of Storms… I still love her writing! (15 days people! 15 days…)

So, in honour of those 15 days until EoS, I have written down my top 15 favourite quotes. (See what I did there? Genius, if I do say so myself! No need to glare so hard Melia! I get it!)

Continue reading

Books I Really Want To Read

Hello, everyone!

It’s is Melia and I haven’t posted in ages. Sorry! I have been so busy lately and just haven’t had the time to write a post. Never fear! I have a post for you right here! *Applause* 😎

This post is going to be a list of some of the books I really want to read. I don’t own a copy of any of these books (and I really want to!). Some of these books are sequels to another book.

Let’s get started!

Continue reading