Tag: The Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine-award

Hello! We may or may not being going AWOL after this! We are participating in NaNoWriMo this year, so, as the next month is November, writing combined with schoolwork= a total nightmare for the creators of this blog. So, massive apologies, and we will try to post at least a couple of times! And, I know, we just posted a tag. But, two days after isn’t too bad! (Technically, it was one, since I wrote this at 9pm on the 28/10/16 and decided to schedule it so it looked better!)

THE RULES:

– Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
– Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
– Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
– List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

Thank you to the wonderful Michelle @ Forest City Bookworm for nominating us, your blog is incredible, and I can’t wait to read more of your posts!

Continue reading

Book Tag: The Secret Life of a Book Blogger

Hello! It’s Melia here with another book tag!

I am so tired right now. I got off a very long flight last night and I am so jet lagged and there will be a lot of spelling mistakes in this post. *yawning*

Anyway, we were tagged by Cassiopeia’s Moon and we haven’t done a tag in a while so, here it is!

How long have you been a blogger?

We started blogging in February this year so, not very long.

At what point do you think you will stop?

Never. Never ever ever ever. We may be MIA every now and then when things get busy and all that but we will never stop.

What is the best part?

The best part is probably meeting new people and sharing thoughts and opinions. I also love writing posts for you guys!

What is the worst part?

Hmmm… probably juggling blogging with school, reading, writing and just life in general.

How long does it take you to find/create pictures to use?

It doesn’t take more than ten minutes usually. It depends on whether I am creating the picture or just finding the cover of a book.

 What author would you like to have on your blog?

I would love to have Cassandra Clare or Sarah J. Maas or Victoria Aveyard or Leigh Bardugo or Rick Riordan. To have any of these authors on The Immortal Readers would be so unbelievably amazing.

What do you wear when you write your blog?

I just wear whatever I have been wearing all day. Right now, I am wearing my PJs. They’re very comfortable.❤

How long does it take you to prepare a post?

Depends on the type of post. If it is a review, it usually takes longer than a book haul because I need to find all of the information like page count and ISBN.

What do you think one should do to have a successful blog?

Don’t give up. I know it sounds really cliche but it is true. If you stop posting, no one will read because, obviously, there won’t be anything to read. Post often. If you only post once or twice a month, people won’t come back to your blog.


I tag

Chanda @ Chanda Reads Books, for being our latest follower.

Luxe @ Mind of Luxe, to welcome her back.

Danielle @ Books, Vertigo and Tea, for commenting and just being all round awesome!

And, I tag whoever wants to do it!

You don’t need to do this tag!

Enjoy!

Chapter Nine of Skulduggery Pleasant by Karabelle

Hey guys! We have the next chapter! Enjoy! Thanks, Laurena

Chapter 9

Ghastly waved goodbye to Fletcher and a moment later he was gone.

He looked around, taking in his surroundings. Fletcher had dropped him at the edge of the forest at the estate, and he could just see Gordon’s – no, Valkyrie’s – mansion. Ghastly sighed as he remembered the infamous Gordon Edgely. He wrote some good books. He had read quite a few of them.

What he couldn’t see was Tanith. Where was she? He thought. Then Ghastly remembered that she was going to find a picnic spot in the woods. I’ll go and meet her there! He decided happily. Heading towards the tree line, Ghastly wondered how he would actually find her in this massive forest, but he was unable to finish the thought. Barely taking a step, he felt something hard hit him in the back of the head, knocking him into unconsciousness.

Continue reading

Fantasy Book Recommendations

Hello! It’s Laurena, Melia and Ally here and we have some fantasy book recommendations for you!

Fantasy is our favourite genre by far and this list would be miles long if we didn’t limit ourselves. We will give a brief reason of why we recommend the books.

In no particular order…

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas

Throne of glass

Throne of Glass is a high-fantasy. It’s one of those books that you can’t say anything about it without spoiling something. We can’t even reveal the characters name!

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

This book is set in a fantasy world that sort of resembles Russia. There’s magic, mayhem and anything else you could hope for in a fantasy.

Akarnae by Lynette Noni

23569787

Perfect for fans of Narnia and Harry Potter

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

an ember in the ashes.jpg

Fast-paced, gripping.

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

va-mti-cover-_-face-on1

No. It is nothing like Twilight if that is what is steering you away from this series.

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder

Fabulous Sci-fi/Fantasy retelling of Cinderella

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

51ADTbfEdzL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

The world-building is perfection!

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

for the blog

Magic, action and all of that fun stuff!

Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh 

the wrath and the dawn.jpg

An incredible twist on a fairytale

The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

Papa

Original characters and a gripping plot

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

RedQueen

Unlike anything we have ever read!

Firstlife by Gena Showalter

25785357

Unique and action-packed

The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

Delete

Two of the best fantasy authors come together to create this AMAZING series!

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy

1

If there is going to be an apocalypse, let’s just hope it’s nothing like the one in this book

There you have it! 14 fabulous fantasy books. If you haven’t read any of them, you should go do that.

-The Immortal Readers

All of the cover images are from Goodreads.

Book Review: History’s Prisoners (Invasion #1) (Re-Write)

*Before we begin, we would like to state that The Immortal Readers received this book as an ARC. Getting this book as a PDF and as an ARC does not affect our views on this book.*

This is also a re-write of the post Book Review: History’s Prisoners (Invasion #1), although that has also been updated. 

Thanks!

General Information:

Pages: Unknown

Genre: Sci-Fi

Series: Invasion

Author: James Garmisch

Publisher: Smashwords Edition

Source: ARC

ISBN: 9781370789801

Release Date: October 8th, 2016

Book Format: PDF

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis: Moments before his execution, Huan is given a clear choice: infiltrate the Global Resistance—or die, and never see his children again.

The Alliance is collapsing, and Huan, a former economist for the worldwide government, knows how it was engineered. History has been reset, the children of dissidents re-educated, and the family unit abolished. The facade of utopia is evaporating.

Meanwhile, beyond the city walls, the separated lands are shifting from despair to chaos. Smoldering discontent is about to explode. Huan is neither a soldier nor a spy, but he will have to become both—and quickly—if he is to survive and to save the family that does not know him.

My thoughts:

James Garmisch has developed his characters well. And it is obvious.

The first chapter is slightly slow, but when I reached the second chapter, I was hooked! I have got to admit though, the chapters are long! Some of them I struggled through.

This book is original. Sure, the ‘escape from execution to serve the people who put you there’ was cliche but the way James Garmisch wrote it made it so original, which I really admired.

This book is the first in a series, which has no definite number of books. I will definitely be continuing this series!

It has brainwashing! I swear, brainwashing is my current obsession. (I have a lot.) It also has very advanced technology, so kudos.

Warning: Prepare to read it in one sitting.

If you like action, dystopia, intrigue, and a tiny little bit of romance you’ll enjoy this book.

I read one of James Garmisch’s other books, Silver, Lead and Dead, and I have to say, it was a complete turn around of genre! But, I really, really liked how James Garmisch’s previous book helped shape this one, I feel that it gave it a nice little extra something.

All up, this was a fabulous book. I can’t wait to read more!

Quotes:

 He stood up. “Why are you guys here?” he asked.

“Hunting,” she said.

“You have permits?” he glared at her.

She laughed this time. “Aww, are you breathing, sweetie?” She mocked, “Do you have a permit?”


Huan had resigned himself to his fate years ago. He knew intellectually that his execution would come. He thought he had been ready. He was not.


Ava realized she was dreaming, at that moment where the world of reality and subconscious began to blur and overrun like watercolors. She opened her eyes and tried to replay the dream in her mind. She was a young girl in the dream, playing at the beach. Salty, cold water rushed around her feet. There was a man nearby, familiar to her, warning her not to go deeper. Ava sat up quickly and bumped her head on the bunk bed above her.


Huan glanced at Reyanna. She did not make a sound. He thought maybe she had fallen asleep.

Quite un phased, she sat up, eyes dry, and an innocent look on her face. She glanced at Huan, tilted her head, and smiled quickly.

Huan decided in that moment that she would make a great daughter-in-law.

Xox,

Laurena