Book Review: Made You Up

Oh. My. God. I think that my brain just imploded.

Pages: 448 pages

Genre: Contemporary

Series: standalone

Author: Fransesca Zappia

Publisher: Greenwillow books

Source: Purchased

ISBN: 9780062290106

Release Date: May 19th, 2015

Book Format: Paperback

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis: Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. 

My thoughts: Wow. Wowowowowowowow. Be still my heart. Calm. Stop.

Haha no. This book was freaking amazing. I am so glad I read it. And oh my lord, my expectations were blown away. I am so glad I read this because I think that I have understood schizophrenia so much more.

However, what I love the most was that Alex was not classified by her mental illness. She was not her mental illness. She was a history nerd. She had hopes and dreams and aspirations. She went to work and to school like a normal teen. She went to school on her bike. She took photos.

She had paranoid schizophrenia. However, paranoid schizophrenia did not define her, and that’s the thing that I loved the most.

Then there were the characters, and can I just say wowWowowowowowow! This made my life people. These characters were so good. They were realistic. They weren’t 2D (Unlike my characters…~Informal Creative Writing Assessment, 2017 by Laurena~). In short, they were amazing and I loved them.

Alex – You, my dear, are amazing. Perfect. Incredible. I loved every part of her. She was just wow. I loved her. I connected to her. I loved this book so much it hurts.

Miles – Hello. You are handsome. Care to go out for dinner sometime? No. Not really. I’m too young for dating. Ew. But wow. He was just perfect. Like wow. I loved his character. Just wow. But how he let himself be treated by some people at the school… Confession: I wanted to punch him in the eye. I was practicing my self-restraint for almost a quarter of the book.

Tucker – Here. Platonic relationship a la extreme. I loved it. He was a cool dude. I liked him. But not as much as Charlie or Miles. No.

Charlie – Possibly my favourite character here, Charlie was (💥💥💥). I loved her. I wish I could un-read this book and read it again, just to savour her character. Because, y’know. It’s the worst thing. You can’t ever re-meet someone. I wish you could. I would have chosen not to meet people… But re-meeting her was just wow.

Judging from the amount of ‘wow’s’ I have written here (18, I counted) you should read this book. Seriously.

Read it. Do it now. And be happy. Be very happy…

It’s kinda like what I had hoped would happen.

IMG_0862

But then this happened and it was so much better…

IMG_0863

^Photos from the awesome anime, Haikyuu!^


“Believing something existed and then finding out it didn’t was like reaching the top of the stairs and thinking there was one more step.” 


“Dear Asshole: Thank you for keeping your word and believing me. It was more than I expected. Also, I’m sorry you were inconvenienced by my gluing your locker shut at the beginning of this year. However, I am not sorry that I did it, because it was a lot of fun. Love, Alex.” 


“I am real. This”–he put his other hand over the first-“is real. You see me interacting with other people all day long, don’t you? I talk to people; I affect things in the world. I cause things to happen. I am real.”

“But-but what if this whole place”-I had to suck in air again-“what if everything is inside my head? East Shoal and Scarlet and this bridge and you-what if you’re not real because nothing is real?”

“If nothing’s real, then what does it matter?” he said. “You live here. Doesn’t that make it real enough?” 


“Our neighbors turned to stare at us, because Miles Richter laughing was one of those things that the Mayans had predicted would signal the end of the world. He wasn’t particularly loud about it, but it was Miles laughing, a sound no mortal had ever heard before.” 


“Was there some kind of law about drop-kicking assholes in the face? Probably. They always had laws against things that needed to be done.” 


“There is no force in high school more powerful than one person’s blunt disagreement.” 


Thanks for reading everyone!

Laurena

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Made You Up

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

