The Edge of Everything (Negative Review)

*DNF At This Point in Time.*

Hello! My name is Ally and I’m back again for another review! This time it’s a rant, and I’ll be talking about a book that I really did not like: The Edge of Everything! But, before we begin, I’d like to just say that even though I did not like it, you may have a different opinion and that’s okay!

Now to the review!

 

22296822.jpg

General Information:

  • Pages: 368
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Series: (Untitled)
  • Author: Jeff Giles
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury
  • Source: Library
  • ISBN: Unknown
  • Date Published: 31st January 2017
  • Format: Paperback/Hardcover
  • Rating: Two stars- 33%
  • Quote From Reviewer: “A good plot, however, the overall book needed to be developed further.”

I did like some aspects of the book, especially the dialogue and the gorgeous cover, but otherwise… There were also a lot of problems in this book. The beginning takes place on a mountain just as a blizzard is beginning to roll through. Zoe, our protagonist, is desperately hunting through the snow for her brother and two dogs. (Points for suspense) Then, as her, the dogs and her brother find safety, they are attacked by a man who picks up both dogs and tries to drown them. Whilst Zoe sings songs to her little brother. I think at this point, I was really asking myself what the hell was wrong with the protagonist that she would just sit and watch a strange man drown her two dogs. Yes, he may have been stronger than her, but DO SOMETHING! Swing a chair for god’s sake! A psycho man is trying to murder your dogs in a freezing lake!

And don’t even get me started on X. X is a magical bounty hunter from hell who appears to save the dogs and drown the guy who was trying to kill them. You think that’s weird? Well, have I got news for you! After saving the dogs, he pulls his shirt off and pretty much turns into a projector. Literally. He plays all of Stan’s (the guy who is trying to drown the dogs) misdoings on his back and then proceeds to murder him. Confused? I was too. Although, this did make me laugh, as ridiculous as it was:

“X spread his arms wide. His shoulder blades flashed in the darkness and his back became broader still.

Zoe couldn’t help it. She took a photo to put on Instagram later.”

tenor (2).gif

 

I will let you form your own opinions about that quote. I do wonder what the caption for that photo was though… Probably something along the lines of:

“Check out this super hot dude’s abs! Ignore my dogs being drowned in the background- I’m sure they can swim in freezing cold water! #lol #murder is awesome #he’s a human projector.”

My next problem (it’s going to be a long post, ladies and gentlemen) was this: In fact, I don’t even know what to make of this little quote.

“The man didn’t say a word. He certainly didn’t apologise. He just stood there, his eyes sliding over Zoe’s body and leaving slime trails like snails. Men had looked at her like that ever since she was 12. When she first talked to her mother about it, her mum had said,

“Zoe, sit down for a second. It’s time I taught you the meaning of the phrase ‘horrible low life perv.”

Pardon me, but what now? Men had looked at her like that every since she was twelve? Ahem. *sips hot chocolate whilst peering over the rim of the cup with scepticism.*

tumblr_nyusrqvqDo1tp2mvqo1_500.gif

To be honest, I don’t even know where to begin. Zoe’s state of mind worries me. A lot. She leaves her brother playing outside in the snow just because she doesn;t have time for him. Her little brother.  I’m sorry, but I myself have a little sister and whilst we certainly have our differences, I would not leave her outside if I knew that a blizzard was coming. First of all, my mother would probably kill me first if I did, and secondly, I would most likely feel bad. So I didn’t find that scenario very realistic. And that’s completely ignoring the fact that she calls him a ‘spack’ because he has ADHD.

(Google tells me that “spack’ is a slang meaning mentally deficient, clumsy or foolish. Either way, it doesn’t sit very well with me.)

I really wanted to like this book. It had so much promise, but it just didn’t work out for me. At this stage, I don’t think I’ll finish it.

Have you guys read The Edge of Everything yet? If so, what did you think? Personally, I’m going to rate this two stars, but you may disagree! Tell me below in the comments! Once again, this is only my opinion and if you disagree, that’s okay too!

-Ally xx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

