Book Review: A SYMPHONY OF BLOOD

Hello, Immortals! Today I will be reviewing ‘A Symphony Of Blood’ by Mathew Swiontek. Enjoy! 😀

PLEASE NOTE: We received this book as an ARC, but that does not in anyway impact or views on the book. 

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 9.04.51 am.png

  • Pages: 110
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Series: The Lost Journals
  • Author: Matthew Swiontek
  • Publisher: Unknown.
  • Source: E-ARC
  • ISBN: 1503248577
  • Date Published: November 16th, 2014
  • Format: Kindle Edition, E-Book
  • Rating: 69%
  • Quote from Reviewer: “I quite liked the different writing format and would recommend!”

Vampire Hordes? Monsters with anger issues? Taunting Villains that make you want to smack them across the head?  A Symphony of Blood had all of these. Possibly my favourite trope of all time is the Weapons trope. You know the one: Where the main character (MC) is in a situation and they seem to have a rather alarming amount of weapons. First, comes the sword or bow, leaving you to wonder if they have another weapon stashed somewhere- and they do! They pull a crossbow from thin air, and you think “okay, that’s definitely all the weapons you can hide in one coat.”  But wait! They never travel without their trusty pistols! And just when it’s getting ridiculous and the reader is wondering where in the ISW (Insert Swear Word- I’m rather proud of that invention 🙂 they are getting the weapons from-BAM BAM! You forgot the throwing knife hidden under the mini fedora. Rooky mistake.Looking back on this paragraph I can see that my knowledge of weapons may be concerning…

Continuing on, that was something I was able to laugh over! The protagonist Gerhold just kept pulling out endless weapons from the most random places. Another thing I liked about A Symphony Of Blood was the lack of cliches.  Despite it featuring the trope mentioned above, it was completely clean of the “love triangle”, “the chosen one”, “the society destroyed” and  “government organisation”  to name a few classics.

As per usual, I don’t enjoy writing about the negatives, but it must be done. The main problems ( I found a word better than issue! Ten points to Gryffindor! Did that make sense? No, no it did not…) I had with ‘A Symphony Of Blood’ was the fast pace and emotion- or lack thereof.  A Symphony of Blood was written admittedly well, but the plot points weren’t separated at all. One chapter would be a key plot scene, and the next would be of equal importance. There was no ‘break’, and by this I mean there was no spacing between dramatic moments; no light-hearted chapters between the heavier ones. The book moved incredibly fast and whilst this can be a good thing, it wasn’t in this instance. Instead, any reader would have to take a break from each chapter, just to process what was happening. This leads me to my next statement: emotion. Possibly because the book was moving so fast, there was no real emotional connection between me as a reader and the character. I couldn’t sympathise simply because he had no real backstory or defining personality traits, however, I did appreciate one particular scene in which I was able to relate to Gerhold immensely(The MC). So, all in all, I could say my only two problems I had was the lack of backstory- which we will hopefully see more of in book two and the lack of more ‘simpler’ and slower scenes.

Despite the negatives, I rather liked A Symphony of Blood, especially the ending (It’s worth reading until the end) and for that, I give it a 69% and a warning of violence: 12+

-Ally xx

Leave a Reply

