Book Review: One by Sarah Crossan

General Information:

Pages: 400 (paperback)

Genre: Contemporary, illness

Series: Stand-alone

Author: Sarah Crossan

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

Source: Library

ISBN: 0062118757

Release Date: August 27th, 2015

Book Format: Paperback

Rating: 3.5 stars

Synopsis (Goodreads): Grace and Tippi. Tippi and Grace. Two sisters. Two hearts. Two dreams. Two lives. But one body.

Grace and Tippi are conjoined twins, joined at the waist, defying the odds of survival for sixteen years. They share everything, and they are everything to each other. They would never imagine being apart. For them, that would be the real tragedy.

But something is happening to them. Something they hoped would never happen. And Grace doesn’t want to admit it. Not even to Tippi.

How long can they hide from the truth—how long before they must face the most impossible choice of their lives?

My thoughts: 

I am sure I would have loved this book so much more if I didn’t know how it ended prior to reading it. Putting that aside, One by Sarah Crossan was a fabulous read. The way it was written was totally different to anything I have read (considering I don’t read many free-verse novels and this was my first).

Grace’s character was extremely well developed and I love it when I feel like I know a character as if they were one of my best friends! The downside of this was Tippi didn’t have much character development at all so she seemed sort of distant. It seemed like she was made to be the same a Grace. Though that would make sense because they are identical twins and are conjoined as well but twins don’t have the same personalities.

Considering that the book is 400 pages long, it felt like it was gone in an instant! This wasn’t a negative thing but it wasn’t positive either. As I mentioned early, One could have improved so much, in my eyes, if it had more character development and all of that but it was the quick read I needed to get me out of my reading slump!

This book was so hard to rate because, as you can see, this review was very mixed with goods and bads. In the end, I rated it 3.5/5 stars/

(Sorry about all of the muddled information and thoughts.)

-Melia

 

Sidenote that doesn’t have anything to do with this review: 

Sorry about the lack of posting recently! As Laurena mentioned in our last post, we are participating in NaNoWriMo this year and the amount of assessments and exams we have this term is unbelievable. We will try to post more often because I am pulling out of NaNoWriMo. I will keep writing my novel but I don’t think I want to rush it over one month. I am also in a bit of a writing slump, and reading slump (again!) and blogging slump. I might participate next year but I don’t think it’s for me. This year, I will just watch from the sidelines and cheer Ally and Laurena on.

Until next time!

-Melia

2 thoughts on “Book Review: One by Sarah Crossan

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

