Book Review: Uprooted

General Information:

Pages: 438 pages (paperback)

Genre: Fantasy

Series: Stand-alone

Author: Naomi Novik

Publisher: Macmillan

Source: Library

ISBN: 1447298306

Release Date: May 19th, 2015

Book Format: Paperback

Rating: 4.5 stars

Synopsis: (From Goodreads) “Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. We hear them sometimes, from travellers passing through. They talk as though we were doing human sacrifice, and he was a real dragon. Of course, that’s not true: he may be a wizard and immortal, but he’s still a man, and our fathers would band together and kill him if he wanted to eat one of us every ten years. He protects us against the Wood, and we’re grateful, but not that grateful.”

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

My thoughts: I had borrowed this books from my school library and I was so excited to read it. A week or so later, I still hadn’t started it and was considering returning it. I flipped it open to the first pages and read the first sentence. Then I was twenty pages in. Then a hundred. Then three hundred. Then I had finished the book, laying on my bed, staring at the roof, just thinking about the book. I needed the next book, so I jumped on Goodreads to look for it and… no sequel. Yeah, that hurt.

I really loved this book. It lost half a star due to over-the-top romance. I am not someone who can read a scene like the over-the-top romance scene in Uprooted without squirming. Those sort of things always lowers the rating for me.

Can we talk about the storyline for a minute? I love love love love the storyline. How does Naomi do it? It just has that fairytale feel to it. Not a re-telling but its own fairytale. I was writing my own story (I still am) while I was reading this and my thoughts were something like this…

Me: *reading*

Me:  I WANT TO WRITE SOMETHING THIS GOOD!

Me: I am never going to write something this good, though…

Me: *Sighs* SO GOOD!

So, in case you haven’t figured it out already. I loved this book so much and I gave it 4.5 stars.

I have noticed that I tend to only review books that I really liked. I have written only one or two negative reviews. I read lots of books and if I don’t like it, I don’t want to review it. Should I review more books? Have you read Uprooted? What did you think of it?

Let me know in the comments!

-Melia

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Uprooted

Add yours

  1. You make this book sound so good! I’ll definitely put this on my TBR. 🙂 I sometimes find it easier to review books that I didn’t like. When I write about books I like, I always find myself deleting half the text because I keep on repeating how I enjoyed it. And it’s easier to point out things you didn’t like. I don’t know if any of that made sense.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

