Book Reviews: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (Series)

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

General Information:

Pages: 355

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Series: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before Trilogy

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Source: Purchased

ISBN: 1481417754

Release Date: April 15th, 2014

Book Format: EBook

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis: (From Goodreads) To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

My thoughts: I thought I would hate this book because this is a contemporary romance. I didn’t. I picked up this book because I decided to get Hunting Lila and Losing Lila on my Kobo and then I saw To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and Ps. I Still Love You. I had heard of them from my school’s librarians and they told me, forcibly, to read it. So I saw them, they were $10 each, I caved and bought them. (Totally ignoring the fact that the library has them in!)

When I started to read this, it clicked. CLICKED! Books do not do that to me often. Only the 70 or so that are up on my favourites shelf have. And by my standards, that is not a lot! (But Ally thinks it is, but then again she also things I buy too many books on impulse.) But the things that really make it click was the family connections. They stuck together through anything and yeah. It was heart-warming!

Ps. I Still Love You

General Information:

Pages: 

Genre: Contemporary, Romance

Series: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before Trilogy

Author: Jenny Han

Publisher:

Source: Purchased

ISBN:

Release Date: 

Book Format: EBook

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis: (From Goodreads) Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once? Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

My thoughts: Ok, time for the truth. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the other book.

Sort of spoiler: Half the time, Lara Jean thinks Peter is cheating on her with Genevieve and that is boring and has no plot. But I still needed to know what happened!

Which was, admittedly, annoying.

But it was good…

But the first one was still better!

Series note: There is going to be a third book! Is it too early to fully develop this fact?! I can’t believe it, honestly. After all Jenny Han’s words of ‘it is only going to be a duology…’ and now this! I might just die from excitement! ‘Always and Forever, Lara Jean’ has a sense of finality to it, doesn’t it. Sadly, it also makes me think of marriage…  But is it just me or do you all think that it should be ‘Forever and Always, Lara Jean’? I mean, inner-pedant coming to show, but ‘Always and Forever, Lara Jean’ just doesn’t work.

Oh well. It is featuring Lara Jean and Peter. And don’t judge a book by it’s title!

Me: tumblr_inline_n1it4gJKWw1qev78e.gif

Me: tumblr_mnbbjz2XpF1qdzs7mo1_500.gifGive it to me!!

If this book ends like the first or second one did, Jenny Han, we are going to have words!

It has taken me well over a month to finish this… So, I am just going to post it… It was short but…

Life isn’t buttercups and rainbows everyone!

Another Team Peter supporter anticipating ‘Always and Forever, Lara Jean’,

~Laurena

One thought on “Book Reviews: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (Series)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

