Book Review: The Outliers

General Information:

Pages: 468 (paperback UK)

Genre: Sci-fi, Mystery

Series: The Outliers

Author: Kimberly McCreight

Publisher: HarperCollins

Source: Library

ISBN: 0008115060

Release Date: May 3rd 2016

Book Format: Paperback, UK

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Imagine if you could see inside the minds of everyone around you – your best friend, your boyfriend, your enemies…?
Imagine how valuable you’d be…
Imagine how much danger you’d be in…
Imagine being an Outlier.

Wylie hasn’t heard from her best friend, Cassie, since their fight. That doesn’t matter when she gets a text from her, asking for help. But as Cassie’s messages become increasingly strange, Wylie has a growing sense that something is REALLY wrong. What isn’t Cassie telling her? And could finding her be just the beginning?

My thoughts:

OHMIGOSH! I can’t even begin to describe how compelling and fabulous this book was. Just writing this review, I am activating fangirl mode…

FANGIRLING_-2

I NEED THE NEXT BOOK!! The next Outliers book doesn’t come out until sometime next year. It doesn’t have a title, a cover or a release date yet. I can’t wait this long! I don’t know what to do with my life anymore! What did I do before The Outliers came into my life?

Okay, calming down. Now, I am going to tell you why I loved this book so much.

Have you read the synopsis?! If you have, you will have a slight idea about why I think this book is the best book ever. On Goodreads, I have read some very negative reviews, mostly surrounding this one question; Why didn’t they just call the police?

Well, obviously, they hadn’t read the book properly. There was a perfectly good reason for the characters not calling the police. I am not going to tell you the reason because… spoilers. Seriously, if you have read it, you will know.

Oh, I forgot to mention… THE FEELS! Ugh, I still am not over the twists (multiple plot twists, yes).

Let me show you the stages of reading this book:

reading smart.gif

This is good so far

 

 

boooook.gif

MUST READ BOOK!

plot twist.gif

*Gasp*

 

Despicable-Me-Minion-Saying-What.gif

WHAAAAAAT?

 

sad2.gif

Why, Kimberly, why?

And Finally…

iamafangirl.gif

Admitting it

 

So, that was my reading experience for this book.

Anyway, can we talk about the characters? (In a non-spoilery way, of course)

Wylie is the opposite of a strong character a lot of the time, but if I was in her shoes, I would be a bigger mess than she was a the start of the book. All through-out the book, I was waiting for the inevitable romance in this book, but it never came. I am glad to say that this book it not cliche in the slightest! YAY!

Yes, there where mentions of previous romances and there was a romance between some other characters, but it was only described through flashbacks/memories.

Overall, I rated this book a 5 out of 5 stars! Go read The Outliers.

On a completely different note, it is Ally’s birthday tomorrow! Send her a Happy Birthday through the comments.

Have you read The Outliers? What did you think of it? Any recommendations for books like this one? Let us know in the comments!

Until next time,

Melia

 

Leave a Reply

