Book Review: Pride and Prejudice

General Information:

  • Pages: 368
  • Genre: Classics, romance
  • Series: *Stand alone*
  • Author: Jane Austen
  • Publisher: Vintage Classics
  • Source: Library
  • ISBN: 9780099511151
  • Release Date: January 28th, 1813
  • Book Format: Paperback
  • Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis: Elizabeth Bennet is young, clever and attractive, but her mother is a nightmare and she and her four sisters are in dire need of finacial security and escape in the shape of husbands. The arrival of nice Mr Bingley and arrogant Mr Darcy in the neighbourhood

My thoughts: Mrs Gardiner is awesome. In all honesty, I only picked up this book so I could fulfill my reading goal- to read one book from each genre in the library. But as soon as I got to page 10, I was entranced. The writing is old fashioned- therefore awesome! However, at my age, it could be a little confusing with all the ‘Miss Bennet,’ then the sudden switch to ‘Jane.’

And I could be picking at strings here, but Jane Bennet- one of the main character’s- share the same first name as the author. And that really bugs me for some weird reason. But, who knows, maybe Jane Austen did it for a friend.

Fitzwilliam Darcy! Now, I understand why Mr Darcy wants to be referred to as ‘Mr Darcy,’ and why no one uses it! Fitzwilliam… Ok, I’m sold. I love this book. I mean, Fitzwilliam!? This was definitely the highlight of the book!

However, against my better judgement that it is a classic and that all classics are bad, I actually enjoyed this book.

You can see the love!

tumblr_mz02plgP0h1sjdvoto1_500.gif

tumblr_inline_nzqmp7RMXC1qhsh3q_500.gif

Spolier:

tumblr_nsoyh4tm741u38mzbo1_500.gif

tumblr_ngqtk3u8BZ1rhjjgyo1_500.jpg

Ok. First sentence:

tumblr_m2ou8q8bLF1qfv91lo1_r2_500.gif

tumblr_m2ou8q8bLF1qfv91lo2_500.gif

I love gifs.

I do believe that this concludes this review.

Until next time, amigos,

Laurena

14-see-ya-madam.gif

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Pride and Prejudice

  1. I feel the exact same!! I love Mr. Darcy and Matthew MacFadyen as him even more. I agree, I never thought the book would be this good. I picked it up because all my friends would hate it, and at the first part, I did hate Mr. Darcy but then I really came to love him at the end. It was definitely a pleasant surprise! ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

