Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

General Information:

Pages: 640

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Series: A Court of Mist and Fury (Book 2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Source: Borrowed

ISBN: 9-781408-857885

Release Date: May 3rd, 2016

Book Format: Paperback

Rating: 4 stars

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

My Thoughts: This was worse than A Court of Thorns and Roses in the romance section. Ladies and Gentlemen, prepare to gouge out your eyes. It is graphic! I virtually fainted, Melia almost vomited and Ally got one sentence in.

Please note: We don’t read graphic romance novels which is why we reacted so dramatically to the romance.

However, damn Sarah J. Maas’ genius, she writes so well and has such brilliant plots! This is why I didn’t throw the book down in the bin and storm off to Pennsylania to wash out her mouth with soap. (Sarah J. Maas, I will do it!) But still, damn her genius! And her cliff-hangers…

And now, Sarah J. Maas has made me (sort of) long for her third book in the series. Again, damn her incredible writing!

Me at the end of the book:

The ending made me want to scream. And gasp. And invent a time machine.

Ooooh! First gif! Celebrate!

All I can say is that Empire of Storms, Throne of Glass 5, had better not be as romantic as this… Or, Sarah J. Maas, I am coming for you!

But the cover is so pretty!

ARG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.jpg

Caption: A fight for her throne. A war against darkness.

Sooooooo pretty!

But enough fangirling. I liked this book and I plan to read the third one! But I am going to borrow it! And it won’t be an instant read, unlike Empire of Storms….

FANGIRLING_-2.gif

This will be me when I get EoS and aCoMaF 3:

458105.gif

Very distracted therefore giving up on this review,

~Laurena

Incoherent-Fangirling.gif

2 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury

  1. I’m sorry you guys had so much trouble with the more graphic parts. D: I hope you were able to look passed them enough to get absorbed in to the book. The next one should prove to be more action and less graphic content. I mean, where can they really sneak it in now that there’s all this trouble brewing in the world? They won’t have time for hanky-panky when they’re trying to take down Hybern.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My Lord, I hope so! Despite my best intentions, I still plan to read the third! I mean, if Sarah J. Maas didn’t end with a cliffhanger like that, I would have happily ignored the rest of the series. Sadly, Sarah J. Maas is just that good and I am just that weak with poor life decisions. But, I was on Team Rhysand from the start. Tamlin… No. But, I did look past them and finish the book- and I am so glad I did!
      ~Laurena

      Like

Leave a Reply

