Book Review: The Glittering Court

General Information:

Pages: 400 (Paperback)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Series: The Glittering Court

Author: Richelle Mead

Publisher: Razorbill

Source: Purchased

ISBN: 1595148418

Release Date: April 5th, 2016

Book Format: Paperback

Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis: Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…

My Thoughts: I was looking in the bookstore for a book after a day at Dad’s work, (Yes, I get payed in books!) and I was drawn to this book by it’s cover. I was instantly intrigued as I started to read the blurb. I bought it immediately after finishing the blurb.

This book was fabulous. I (as I mentioned in my review Book Review: Strange Girl) am sceptical of romance books, but this was an exception. I could not tear my eyes away from this book, (yes, even when on pages 332 and 333) and as a result, my parents became extremely annoyed.

I looked this series up on Goodreads, and…. each of the three books are going to be told from a different character’s view. (Adelaide, Tamsin, Mira.) I love that fact, and I resolutely do not. I grew so attached to Adelaide and Cedric… and now I have to let them go! But it makes sense, because when I finished ‘The Glittering Court’, I needed nothing more from Adelaide and Cedric, I wasn’t left in suspense, I was completely assured of their future. So, in reality, this style makes sense. But, that doesn’t make me happy about it! (Richelle Mead, there had better be novellas!)

I thought that the character of Tamsin was especially alluring. I though this especially when Adelaide and Tamsin have a fight over the gradings. I think that it is obvious that she loves her family very, very much, due to what she says to them on visiting day, and her determination to marry a prospering man so she can break them out of the circle of poverty. 

Well, enough rambling, go buy the book and cry. Don’t forget to cry. And wait for the next one. And the next. (Don’t worry, there are only three books. Three years of waiting! *Cries*).

~Laurena

One thought on “Book Review: The Glittering Court

  1. Pingback: Book Tag: The Book Courtship Tag | The Immortal Readers

Leave a Reply

