Destination Earth:

General Info:

  • Title: Destination Earth By Ali Sparkes
  • Pages: 352
  • Format: Paperback
  • Publish Date: June 5th 2014
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press
  • ISBN: 0192733443

Summary*:

When I first picked this book up I expected a brilliant action packed sci-fi novel with a good plot. Sadly, I was disappointed. I did however, enjoy reading about the characters of whom Ali Sparkes portrayed brilliantly.

The novel in question, opens on a young girl, Lucy, of whom is fleeing from her own planet to earth for a reason that is later revealed. I found the first few chapters entertaining and light hearted but from then the book only went downhill. Whilst the characters themselves were written nicely, their reactions, were not. The plot had the ability to become a brilliant one, however, this opportunity wasn’t embraced. In my opinion, the book was a Pittacus Lore hit-and-miss.

The reason why I found that this book did not hold the reader’s interest, is that the book starts out slow, but well written, then as the pace begins to pick up, the plot comes to include unnecessary introductions and badly written reactions. Although, I did find the ending quite well written and it provided a good ending to a relatively mediocre novel.

Destination Earth’s blurb is as follows:

Imagine you are the only survivor from another planet. You’ve spent ten years on a spaceship learning how to be human, and now the end of your journey is in sight …All you have to do is land safely, convince the earthlings that you’re a real teenager, and start your new life on Earth. No problem. Except that the killer alien responsible for wiping out your people has hitched a lift. And it’s just a matter of time before it starts on the human race…

The blurb was one of the main reasons I picked the book of the shelf as it really made an imprint in my mind. Whilst my some what negative opinion sheds light on this book, it is nothing but an opinion and others may find ‘Destination Earth’ a great and enjoyable read. Further more, I wouldn’t highly recommend this book and so without further ado, I rate it three stars.

*please note that this review is based solely on my opinions and as stated above, others may find this book quite enjoyable.

~Ally

Leave a Reply

