Book Review: Death in the Clouds

General information:

Pages: 333

Publisher: Dodd, Mead and Company

Genre: Adult Mystery

Series: Poirot

Synopsis: A woman is killed by a poisoned dart in the enclosed confines of a commercial passenger plane…

From seat No.9, Hercule Poirot was ideally placed to observe his fellow air passengers. Over to his right sat a pretty young woman, clearly infatuated with the man opposite; ahead, in seat No.13, sat a Countess with a poorly-concealed cocaine habit; across the gangway in seat No.8, a detective writer was being troubled by an aggressive wasp.

What Poirot did not yet realize was that behind him, in seat No.2, sat the slumped, lifeless body of a woman.

My Thoughts: Wooh! I was right! Ok, irrelevant. I found that this book was not one of Agatha Christie’s best. Normally I would celebrate guessing the murderer in the first 100 pages but when it is an Agatha Christie book, and I guessed the murderer, the standards have definitely lowered from her usual ‘keep guessing until the bitter end’ mysteries.

Suffix to say, it was an incredible book and I loved the way that Agatha Christie let me doubt myself and my ‘superb’ detecting skills, all the way until the bomb shell exploded. (But I was still correct!)

I give this book 4/5 stars, just because all in all it was a fabulous plot and story and it currently lies on my over-flowing ‘favourite’ book shelf.

~Laurena😇😇

Leave a Reply

